fertile dust

Sunday, May 2

On beautiful cool sunny Saturday  I walked along the lake to the farmers market, bought carrots, looked at many things and smiled at people as we passed.  I very consciously tried to stay open and receptive and breathed deeply and slowly to encourage that.

Trees in bloom bent and danced in the breeze, clouds of life holding pollen blew, travelling great distances on wind in search of places to thrive.

I’m wondering how burners feel all year long when people seem corked up like  half drunk bottles of wine, only letting a little air in and a little out.

How do they replicate an inexplicable aura of a vast swath of desert filled with people who believe in unlimited possibilities when they leave the playa?

 Playa dust travels far distances like pollen, some on the skin and belongings of Burners returning back here. Are Burners the fertile wombs the dust seeks? For 51 weeks does playa dust alchemize their lives?

 Otherwise, isn’t it simply heartbreaking?

Tags: , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “fertile dust”

  1. Liea Says:

    I have my tribe, my friends who help keep me grounded and understand/share the spirit of not only the playa, but of Black Rock City itself. I’m taking 2 of my closest and dearest home to Black Rock with me this year for their first time.

  2. openscarf Says:

    Thank you for writing.

    My hope is that I build such a tribe. For now I’m attempting to attract the spirit and then see what happens. It all seems unreal right now.

    Your friends are fortunate to have you as their initial guide, do you feel a sense of responsibility for them?

Leave a Reply

