Pink duct tape and safety pins

August 17, Wednesday

I’ve turned the corner and am racing towards the playa. The same wise and knowing friend, who gave me the fur jacket, emailed me today and wrote, “The playa provides.” And it has and I’m not even there yet.

Burner friends, how do you even function these days before the journey? I work my list on excel many times a day. I try to do/buy a little each day.  There’s so much to do and it’s all I want to do. I’m currently extremely underemployed; frankly I don’t know how people holding down this default world find the time to get it all together

I’m going to be the type of burner wearing thrift store finds, Target stuff; scarves tied every which-way and treasure I’ve discovered on the back of shelves or in boxes under more boxes. So far a few day looks and night looks. Boots for day and boots for night. And stuff and more, I think, I guess. Green eggs and ham.

The fellow we’re camping with seems to personify the playa doctrine of fun and generosity. I’m stoked that we have a little camp now to experience it with.

I’ve noticed:

  • I want to give people stuff, my time, smiles, I’m super patient and am cracking myself up
  • Compulsion to start my paper Burning Man journal tonight, I want to write it with pen & paper, I have another paper journal (and another blog of course), but this needs to stand alone.
  • Drawn to Henry Miller’s “Big Sur and the Oranges of Hieronymus Bosch,” the community he lived with there sound like the first Burners to me.  I read little snippets all day. I might bring that along with me.
  • And I just want to keep talking about it, even if I just say the same things over and over. I also like dragging people inside so I can show them my inventory.

I’m wondering about a playa name, not feeling that yet and wondering if anyone uses their real name?

I love this picture-



Tags: , , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “Pink duct tape and safety pins”

  1. Genie Says:

    Little by little is perfect, and as long as you have the critical stuff, you’re going to be fine. I will say that I brought a sort of metaphysical and interesting book to read last year, and I got about three pages of it read — even when chilling out, I found myself needing time to process what I was seeing rather than giving myself more input. I’d say less is more when it comes to reading material. But definitely get that journal going. :-)

    I’ve not found a Playa name yet — plenty of people have them, but I really like approaching the desert as myself, full on, under my own name. There’s enough of yourself you shed out there…trust me…so don’t worry if a name doesn’t choose you. (And, from what I hear, the name chooses you. You don’t get to choose the name…) :-)

    By the way, we’re going to be at 7:30 and B in Camp Pendant. Come by and get a pendant, mark yourself on our map, and say hello. I’ve so enjoyed reading this as you run up to the event, and would love to meet you.

    • openscarf Says:

      This is so great – I didn’t realize you were going this year, I can’t wait to meet you. Is this your second one?

      Thank you for the kind words. I’ve read many of your posts and comments I stumbled upon and think you’re a fantastic writer and thinker. Its funny we’ll meet out there, when I know we’re neighbors.

      Camp Pendant noted! I’m not sure where we’ll be yet, but will get there Monday sometime.

      I get what you mean about the books, I may not open them, but I’ll put great thought into which one(s) I bring. Of course I don’t know how I’ll process anything, but something or two, bound and numbered will come along to the playa with me. ;-)

      I like your words about the name. My sense is the same way you approach it, I want to be myself, full on, and actually see who that is. At least that’s one of my fantasies.

      See you soon! :-)

  2. Genie Says:

    I’m definitely going — and yes, second year! Can’t wait, although I’m completely overwhelmed, too, but everything left to do before I go. I’ll be in for early entry on Saturday, and I’m definitely staying until after the Man burns this year…not expecting to stay for the Temple Burn, but am always leaving that open to serendipity and chance.

    The streets are numbered going out from the Man, and the letter streets go in concentric semi-circles, starting with Esplanade and moving through A, B, C, D, etc. The street names are different each year depending on the theme. Last year was Evolution, and we were at 7:30 and Genome, or G. This year, we’re up closer at 7:30 and Baghdad, or B. There will be street signs up early in the week, but one tip I will share is that you should figure out some landmarks that will guide you back to camp — at a certain point in the week the street signs start disappearing. Obviously all “landmarks” out there are impermanent, but often you can find someone in your immediate area who has thrown up a tall flag, or a big balloon, or something.

    Very much looking forward to meeting you out there!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

